• Rudolf Wagner

Administrator
    25/10/2018 at 02:08

We had some guitar and drum lessons for about 5 years during highschool that we enjoyed tremendously. It was great for getting started and for having someone to ask questions and get feedback from.
    I’d still say the majority of progress we made (especially on guitar) was self taught but I guess that’s always the case because practise = progress. And no teacher can practise for you 😉 Our teachers never really taught us much theory (and we still can’t read music very well) but they kept music FUN, which was soooo much more important. We had little drum ensembles, learned how to groove and play with other people and that made us look forward to picking up our instruments every day.

And later on in life, YouTube, the internet and our favourite musicians became the main “teachers”. Watching tutorials, practising new techniques and studying the hands of George Harrison and Mark Knopfler 🙂

• Michael Triba

25/10/2018 at 05:33

Great question Steve and great answer Lisa!  I am learning so much more about you and Mona here!  I never knew much of what you just said.

I liked what you said about practise = progress!  That is so true, whether it be in music and other fine arts, painting, pottery, sports, etc.

We often here that practise = perfect as well, but that depends on who we emulate and what we practise.  I like the saying practise = permanent instead.  We could practise bad technique or errors, and those little synapses in our brains can developed the wrong pathways.  By emulating George Harrison and Mark Knopfler (of Dire Straits who were inducted into the 2018 Class of the R&R Hall of Fame along with The Moody Blues and 3 other bands),  you learned from masters and learn great technique!