MonaLisa Twins Homepage Forums MLT Club Forum General Discussion Question on wine ( need help )

• Question on wine ( need help )

Posted by Bill Isenberg on 24/12/2021 at 02:07

Club members or should I say family need some help, we all come from different parts of this world and I have a wine that I need some help on. It is called Yellow Tail Cabernet Sauvignon and I got this from my boss at work for Christmas and was wondering if anyone has tried this wine and your opinion? I plan on using this for Christmas Eve tomorrow night. It looks like we was made in Australia.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Bill

Leaving Maddie off this one , only 8 and pretty sure she would not like this wine…LOL…

Roger Penn replied 2 years, 8 months ago 4 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Paul Gagne

24/12/2021 at 03:13

Hi Bill,

I’ll preface this by saying I’m not a wine expert in any way, shape or form — I’m an occasional wine drinker living in Connecticut in the U.S. That said, Yellowtail is pretty readily available in the imported wine sections of many local liquor stores (you’re correct, it’s made in Australia), and their Chardonnay has become my most frequent inexpensive go-to wine. I’m always happy with it. I’ve tried their Cabernet Sauvignon as well and liked it, I just have a personal preference for white wines and Chardonnay in particular.

Enjoy it!

Paul

• Roger Penn

24/12/2021 at 04:16

I have had it many times and it is pretty good for what it is. What it is is a bargain mid-quality wine way better than boxed and generic wines, but certainly not a fine vintage wine that you’ll see Wine Spectator raving about. But it is very drinkable and great value for the price. Contrary to Paul, I’m a red wine guy, but I also lean toward dry wines, and their Pino Noir and Cabernets are pretty good. Of course the key to enjoying any wine to its fullest is what you pair it with, so a lot depends on what you’re eating tomorrow night.

• Jacki Hopper

24/12/2021 at 05:28