MonaLisa Twins Homepage Forums MLT Club Forum General Discussion How Chuck Berry’s – “Roll Over Beethoven” defined Rock and Roll

• How Chuck Berry’s – “Roll Over Beethoven” defined Rock and Roll

Posted by Jung Roe on 07/10/2020 at 20:34

So I awoke this morning to the sound of “Roll Over Beethoven”.  It was spotlighted on the CBC radio and hailed as one of the earliest and most important song to define Rock and Roll!

Apparently when Chuck Berry was growing up, his sister Lucy was a formal student of  classical music and always played on the piano.  Chuck on the other hand hand was into his rough and ready self taught popular music and a rivalry developed between the siblings for time on the piano.  Inspired by this rivalry with his sister, Chuck wrote “Roll Over Beethoven” as a reference to how Beethoven would roll in his grave if he knew how classical music had given way to a new genre of music Chuck Berry was promoting that would become rock and roll.  It was one of Chuck Berry’s earliest hit songs in 1956.

Per Wikipedia, “Berry’s single was one of 50 recordings chosen in 2003 by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry. In 2004, “Roll Over Beethoven” was ranked number 97 on Rolling Stone’s list of “The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time”. The accompanying review stated that it “became the ultimate rock & roll call to arms, declaring a new era”.

The opening guitar solo sounds similar to Berry’s most famous hit, “Johnny B. Goode”. The sheet music for the two songs is very similar.[8] Koda calls it a “masterpiece” that helped to define rock and roll.[4]

Roll Over Beethoven, was also one of the first songs John Lennon and Paul McCartney learned and performed before they formed the Beatles, and later became a minor hit for them.