• yet another one

Posted by Melchior Franz on 30/05/2021 at 18:23

My name is Melchior FRANZ, I’m 54 years old and from Upper Austria. I work as a software developer for an electronics and computer manufacturer (Embedded Linux, STM32). My second job is as an officer in the army “reserve” (LtCol).

On 29AUG20 in the morning I came across “Fanny” on YouTube, an early 70s all-female rock band that I had never heard of before (Beat-Club “BC 73 IV Z 1/1 – 1971-11-23”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zcb1HpH42N8), and this must have been when “You can’t do that” was suggested in the side bar, at least that’s what the YT history implies, though there was one video in between, which has meanwhile been removed, so I cannot tell which it was.

“You can’t do that” was one of the very few videos on YT that made me subscribe to a channel immediately. It felt like I had found my new favourite band. Not only did I like the song and how it was performed, the girls seemed to enjoy doing so and Mona seemed to smile through the whole song. The next video was “Drive my car”. When I found out that the twins are fellow Austrians, I wasn’t only surprised but also a little proud.

Other music I like is Jazz, organ music, Kate and Anna McGarrigle, Judee Sill, Eva Cassidy, Regina Spektor etc. I didn’t grow up with the Beatles, but every time I heard one of their songs I thought that I really should be having some of their records. I’m afraid that will not happen, now that I’ve found the twins.

People who know me call me Melchior, the others usually call me Franz, because nobody can believe that this is my second name. Yeah, the name is kind of backwards.

Melchior Franz replied 3 years, 3 months ago 6 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Jung Roe

30/05/2021 at 22:19